Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Hook & Anchor. We'd love to have your feedback!

Newport Beach

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

Which dish or item did you try?

You are submitting your information to Hook & Anchor and Popmenu, which powers this site and is sponsoring this giveaway. By submitting, you agree to the Popmenu and .

Our Latest Reviews

Gina about 1 month ago

Lobster Roll w/ Cajun Fries

By far the best lobster roll on the West Coast! After years of searching for something close to a traditional East Coast lobster roll I FINALLY found it and can officially die a happy woman. Thank you Hook and Anchor!!!

Veteranfitness 2 months ago

Lobster Roll w/ Cajun Fries

Absolutely phenomenal !!! By far the best place for any and all lobster cravings. A true gem and will be my must stop everytime I go to Newport.

Jo Dee 2 months ago

Lobster Roll w/ Cajun Fries

We had the lobster 🦞 plate first with rice and grilled veggies then shared a big lobster roll! Yummy the lobster was juicy and tender! Super friendly servers and the food was great. Highly recommend, will be back soon! 👍

Sjpaul0516 3 months ago

Lobster Roll w/ Cajun Fries

Very good!next best place besides Crab Cooker. Clean restaurant

Radosnake1 4 months ago

HOUSEMADE CLAM CHOWDER

My boy is a very picky eater and to my amazement, he absolutely loved the clam chowder. It is the best we had in OC.

Posamom 5 months ago

Hook Plate

I miss this fresh local halibut, perfectly cooked veggies and cilantro rice. I ordered my food to pick up and it was delicious, homey yet chef like, no nasty sauces or overcooked veggies. My son happily awaited my return to our vacation home. I long for a vacay to NB again so I can eat this several times!

Thenet12 5 months ago

Lobster Roll w/ Cajun Fries

During this Wuhan corona virus crisis, we are trying our best to support local businesses. Hook and Anchor did not disappointed our family. We loved the lobster roll, garlic parmesan lobster fries, lobster quesadilla... The lobster claw meat itself are tasty and chewy not like the bad frozen one where it is disintegrating when you give a bite. The kid enjoyed the mac and cheese lobster. The staff is very friendly they have sanitizer handy and open the door for you so that you don't have to touch the handle. This is our new favorite place.

Peachyqn 6 months ago

Lobster Roll w/ Cajun Fries

The best I've ever had. Cannot wait to go again. You won't be disappointed

Mauidiva7 7 months ago

Hook Plate

Since I live within walking distance, I eat at Hook & Anchor several times a week. My husband and I have had almost everything on the menu, and it is all fantastic. Super quality, fresh food at affordable prices. The staff is super friendly and efficient, and we love going there. Their food rivals the best seafood restaurants in town--you will not be disappointed.

Vincent 9 months ago

Lobster Roll w/ Cajun Fries

Buttery and Grilled brioche bun. Plenty of lobster meat stuffed in this roll. Would recommend highly.

Fnunez101 10 months ago

Lobster Roll w/ Cajun Fries

The lobster roll is so Delicious!! Probably the best Lobster roll I've ever had. I am not from the area but visit often and found Hook & Anchor. I promise I will be back because I'm home now and craving it!! Sooooo Yummmyyyyy!!!!!

Vicki 11 months ago

Hook Plate

A nibble here and there off all plates. Wow...you cannot go wrong with this restaurant. We have go to spots and this made it to top of list.

Bk 12 months ago

Crusty Crab

Wow! Delicious can't wait to try the whole menu!

Lwynn1999 12 months ago

Lobster Roll w/ Cajun Fries

I am a seafood fanatic and will travel to the ends of the world to eat good seafoods. The LOBSTER roll here hands down, is the BEST in California!! Only thing better would be if they serve the steam lobster with a side of butter... wink wink something to think about as they expand their amazing menu. We've had their cioppino, mac & cheese, Po boy, clams, clam chowders, Lobster rolls and I will tell you.. their foods will NOT disappoint!! We don't live in the area but have come back over a dozen time this past year alone just to enjoy their juicy, generous portion Lobster Rolls & whatever else new they put on the menu. i like that the price is SOOO reasonable for the excellent quality & freshness of the seafoods served here. So happy to see they are expanding to a larger place so I can possibly bring my herd of friends here to enjoy this delicious seafood serving establishment in the heart of Beautiful Newport Beach!!! Pls don't change and continue to serve the excellent quality of foods with the sweet and friendly service of staffs. 10 stars!!! ❤️👍👏🏻🥰

Thisisme about 1 year ago

Garlic Parm Lobster Fries

OMG...I'm a 'seafood over meat' person & this dish was unbelievably fantastic 🦞

Mrpyre about 1 year ago

Garlic Parm Lobster Fries

Twas the hunger of discontent made gloriously full by Lobster. The Roll, Fries, Mac & Cheese- order all three & Split between you. Add the Chowder & 🥺🥰

Erin about 1 year ago

Po' Boys

This is a PERFECT sandwich! My husband is very picky, but Hook & Anchor never lets him down. We've tried almost every menu item, loved every menu item and look forward with great enthusiasm to Wayne's new creations.

Sonia about 1 year ago

Lobster Sriracha Mac & Cheese

OMG!!!! Talk about amazing!! If you are ever in Newport Beach this has to be the place to take a nice break and get some tasty treats. For anyone craving seafood with their comfort food what better dish is there. A huge crab claw and creamy flavorful macaroni and cheese. They compliment each other perfectly. A must have when stopping by to eat at this fantastic establishment.

Sunxxs about 1 year ago

Hook Plate

The Fish is Always cooked to perfection! Scottish Salmon, scallops, yelliwtail, halibut. And More. Ask for the Fish of the Day. Always written on a board. Cioppino Is Fabulous too (special). Everything is Yummy!

David about 1 year ago

Newports' Finest

We stopped in for lunch and the Newport salad was a great value. The shrimp, lobster, and all the ingredients were fresh and tasty. Been driving by for the last year and glad we did. Will definitely return. FYI they are moving in a couple weeks to Suite A a few doors down into a larger space.

Frank about 1 month ago

Lobster Sriracha Mac & Cheese

Had the specially made Lemon Risotto with shrimp. The shrimp was cooked perfectly and the Lemon Risotto was deliciously creamy with just the right herbs. I also ordered the Lobster sriracha mac &cheese for take home because it is too amazing to pass up.

Dushan 2 months ago

Hook Plate

They specialize in lobster and you'll not be disappointed. If it sounds good, order it! Off the hook Mac & Cheese, lobster rolls are the bomb. Caprese salad and made in-house salad dressings-better than mom. And if it couldn't get any better, their pricing leaves you with change to walk down the street and buy desert. Definitely worth a stop. Cheers.

Pamela 3 months ago

Newports' Finest

Awesome fresh veggies. Delicious!

Easthefty 4 months ago

Garlic Parm Lobster Fries

I've had many a lobster dish in my day, and have been craving the lobster fries since my first visit last year. Amazing, filling, heavenly. Fish and chips were loved by the kids! Each bite of lobster was perfect, delicately meaty - never rubbery, perfect flavor.

Susan 5 months ago

Lobster Sriracha Mac & Cheese

Wow! Everything is sooo good but it is hard to not order the Mac and cheese every time. Creamy, just the right touch of sirracha and chunks of lobster. We drive down from the high desert just to have lunch!

Lisa 5 months ago

Lobster Quesadilla

Chock full of lobster and the cheese is amazing! mmmmmmmmm

Gsdawgsquad2 6 months ago

Newports' Finest

We love dining with you!!! Our newest fav is your Cioppino, so delish & ask for extra bread to sop up their delicious sauce!! Good to the last bite!! Grilled Romaine is the perfect starter along with Housemade Clam Chowder too!! Lobster Roll is another favorite & must try!! So many great dishes to choose from & you can't go wrong nit matter what or how many!! Can't wait to eat with you again!!

Mcrx 6 months ago

Newports' Finest

I love this salad so much that I order it for dinner parties. Everyone is so impressed! I've even had the fixings packed separately so I can build it at home on my fancy plates. I always fess up, but people are still impressed and want to know where I got it. I serve it as the entree and it makes entertaining a breeze. Plus, everyone wants to eat healthy but still feel like they're eating something special and this salad makes that happen.

Kimberjperry 8 months ago

Hook Plate

I love eating fish, however I don't like cooking it. I call a head and pick up healthy grilled fish and veggie dinner on my way home from work. The fish is always fresh and cooked to perfection.

Nhaeger 9 months ago

Lobster Roll w/ Cajun Fries

Lobster Roll (get it chef's way) is EPIC!!!!!! Lots of lobster and the sauces are super flavorful while the bun is soft, warm and delectable. I'll be back for sure.

Tatum 11 months ago

Lobster Roll w/ Cajun Fries

Holy Moly! I am an east coaster turned west coaster and have had my fair share of lobster rolls, clam chowder, po boys and more. I was on the hunt for my new go-to spot to fill my seafood craving needs and this place did not disappoint. Hunks of lobster, buttery brioche roll and the perfect "summer boardwalk" type fries. Yup! I will 1000% be back for this bad boy! Thank you for excellent service + killer food!

Brianpurtle123 11 months ago

Hook Plate

Amazing food! I've been coming here since they opened and every time the food has been amazing and well portioned. The prices are very fair for the quality and portion size. I had the swordfish plate, with a nice sized portion of swordfish cooked perfectly and with a heavenly lemon caper sauce, this was beautifully presented on top of excellent rice and delicious veggies. If you want good fresh fish at a good price, this is your place. Service has always been excellent. Can't praise enough.

Tammyrojas1 12 months ago

Lobster Roll w/ Cajun Fries

👀 🤤 OH Wow AMAZING!! Lobster galore. Let the drool set in!!! Must also try the fish/chips & the mac cheeze.. oozy gooey goodness

Suzette about 1 year ago

Chefs Caprese

I love love love the Caprese at HooknAnchor! I love that they include full leaves of fresh basil and exceptional fresh whole milk mozzarella. The tomatoes are consistently perfectly ripe and they include a generous drizzle of quality balsamic on top! It is a very generous portion and the best Caprese even compared to local quality Italian restaurants! I am Italian, grow my own basil and tomatoes so I am super picky!!

Workbrie about 1 year ago

Po' Boys

Perfectly toasted bread Succulent Lobster drizzled with butter.... I mean WOW! I actully found this place at a recent lobster fest in Long Beach and will now be forced to drive to Newport for a lobster po' boy for the rest of life❤❤... P.s did i for get it comes with fries!

Katface about 1 year ago

Garlic Parm Lobster Fries

Oh my gosh...these are a must try...and you will be HOOKED! Lots of lobster...and a fun meal..Just love this place, pretty hard to choose a favorite, everything on the menu is good and the chefs are fantastic!

Sonia about 1 year ago

Po' Boys

My family and I were in desperate need of quick and tasty lunch and Hook and Anchor answered the call. I had tried the PO Boys and they were mouthwatering delicious. Plenty of food on the plate to fill me up without a bunch of added grease to weigh me down. They were made to perfection and i would invite anyone to give them a try.

Victor about 1 year ago

Lobster Roll w/ Cajun Fries

Best food and service in OC! No matter where you go or what you pay, you will not experience a more delicious blend of food, spices and sides than Hook& Anchor . And the service is the best!

Brotherinchristcmw about 1 year ago

Po' Boys

I had really been looking forward to a good seafood meal in Newport Beach, and I'm glad I tried Hook & Anchor! I had a Po' Boy with a soft shelled crab and fish with Cajun fries on the side. I really enjoyed the Po' Boy, and the fries were outstanding! I think if I order it again I might ask for a little less lettuce and tomato so I can really focus on the taste of the seafood; I just want to taste it all the more! I absolutely loved all the decorations and atmosphere in the restaurant, and I look forward to heading there again soon! I've got my eyes on that Crusty Crab!

Bellatrella26 about 1 year ago

Lobster Roll w/ Cajun Fries

The flavor is unmatched, the bread...fuggedaboutit, the fries...off-the-charts delicious! You know that you're doing something right when your lettuce and tomato speaks to you, too! This is an amazing lobster roll w/ fantastic butter! People think that there's not much to lobster rolls and just anyone can whip one together...not so! These people know what they're doing! The lobster isn't rubbery and tough! It melts in your mouth and leaves you wanting more! I have already written a review for all of my family's meal, but this needs extra attention...this is a crowd-pleaser for ONE! My belly! :) Don't leave this earth w/o trying out Hook 'N Anchor! If you love seafood, you owe it to your tummy to dive in...DO IT!



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

August 2020:
Jo-El, Mick's All American
Mount Joy, PA 

July 2020:
Bronson, Los Dos Potrillos 
Colorado

June 2020:
Elish, Crump's Landing
Homosassa, FL

May 2020:
Carlson, Papi Grande's Mexican
Amherst, NY

April 2020:
Sommer, Little Calf Creamery 
Thousand Oaks, CA

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's Crab House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The Rustik Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA